top of page


Franky Rousseau is a producer, arranger, and composer living in New York City.

Born in 1989 in Montréal, he trained as a guitarist at the New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music. His notable credits as a producer include Fred Hersch’s “Breath by Breath” and Emma Frank’s “Interiors”. He has written for and conducted for various ensembles, such as the Reykjavík Big Band, l’Orchestre National de Jazz de Montréal, the Munich-based Jazzrausch Big Band, and the Tokyo-based Keio Light Music Society along with pianist Aaron Parks and drummer Arthur Hnatek.

He has worked in different capacities for Chris Thile, Nico Muhly, Philip Glass, Jon Batiste, Phoebe Bridgers, Kelsey Lu, Kaïa Kater, and Gabriel Kahane, among others. He was the house arranger and chart-maker for the two final seasons of American Public Media's "Live From Here". He is currently the house arranger and chart-maker for Audible's "The Energy Curfew Music Hour", hosted by Chris Thile and Punch Brothers. He has worked on various orchestral projects involving the music of Andrew Bird, Jónsi, and Rhiannon Giddens. He has contributed arrangements to numerous television series and films for Apple+, HBO, and Netflix.

As a composer, he released "Hope" in 2012, written for the pianist Austin Peralta. Along with Dominic Mekky, he wrote a multimedia music drama entitled “April”, which tells the story of a singer in her early thirties who is irreparably losing her hearing, and the ensuing toll this takes on her and her two close, but unhealthy, relationships. He was a co-writer on the music oratorio "The Passion" with the Notre Dame Folk Choir.


rousseau.franky at

  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page